Google+

Estoy hasta…

Leave a comment

April 19, 2011 by spanishseville

There are quite a few expressions starting with “Estoy hasta“. Literally it means “I am up to…” All of them convey the same meaning: I’m fed up with this. The closest English expression would be: “I’m fed up to the back teeth”

Depending on what part of the body you are fed up to, the feeling is more or less intense:

Estoy hasta el gorro: I’m up to my cap, a very common expression.

Estoy hasta las narices: I’m up to my nose.

Estoy hasta la coronilla: I’m fed up to the crown of my head (this is the most formal of all, it would typically be used by my grandmother)

Estoy hasta los huevos or Estoy hasta los cojones: Fed up to my balls. This one is quite stronger and should be used with care.

All these expressions can be used followed by the cause of your anger: Estoy hasta el gorro de este trabajo (I’m fed up with this job), Estoy hasta las narices de ti (I’m fed up with you).

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

